creatrice de bijoux marie helene lapie loubrielle

THE DESIGNER

Marie-Hélène Loubrielle created SHAGREEN ET TORTOISE after training in Fine Jewellery and Arts in Paris. She started composing and cutting her colorful jewelry for boutiques and customers worldwide from her studio nestled under the roofs of South Pigalle. Passionate about gems, craftsmanship and a lover of nature, she draws her inspiration from the materials she unearths from her travels and trusted suppliers. Her jewels are a tribute to nature, to its exceptional colors and textures. Although she seeks to create repeatable models in small and medium series, each jewel is a unique piece of art and fine craftsmanship.

atelier de fabrication artisanale de bijou en coquillage et pierre precieuse

ORIGINAL CRAFTSMANSHIP

SHAGREEN & TORTOISE's trademark builds upon the art of placing nature at the center of the jewel. With this in mind, the designer developed specific know-hows around carving, cold-enameling, and inlaying of set stones in natural materials. The signature material of the brand is natural seashell, but further collections have and will continue to explore new resources such as pearls, ebony, horn, feathers and more.

coquillages naturels et pierres precieuses serties d'or

RESPONSIBLE AND FINEST MATERIALS

SHAGREEN & TORTOISE jewels are handcrafted in vermeil : silver coated with a solid layer of 18 karat gold. The plating is carried out in a Parisian reknowned gilding atelier that guarantees a thick layer of gold (5 microns), hence a very good resistance over time.

 

The gemstones are ethically sourced and set by our stone cutting and jeweller partner in Jaïpur 

Seashells and other materials come from all over the world, always from regulated fishing or farming circuits. Protected materials or species are never used in our jewellery.

Marie-Helene Loubrielle - creatrice designer

LA CREATRICE

Marie-Hélène Loubrielle a créé la marque Shagreen & Tortoise après une formation en Joaillerie et Histoire de l'Art à Paris. C'est depuis son atelier niché sous les toits de Paris qu'elle a commencé à composer et tailler ses bijoux colorés pour des boutiques et clients du monde entier. Passionée d'artisanat et amoureuse de la nature, elle puise son inspiration dans les matériaux bruts qu'elle chine dans les marchés et auprès de ses fournisseurs, au gré de ses voyages. Ses bijoux aux lignes pures sont un hommage à la nature, à ses exceptionnelles couleurs et textures. Bien qu'elle s'attache a créer des modèles reproductibles en petite et moyenne série, chaque pièce est une petite œuvre unique.

handmade artisan jewellery

UN SAVOIR FAIRE ORIGINAL

La signature des bijoux Shagreen & Tortoise réside dans l'art de mettre la nature au coeur du bijou. C'est dans cet esprit que la créatrice a développé un ensemble de savoir-faire autour des coquillages et autres matériaux : taille, incrustation de pierres serties et articulation du bijou avec la matière. S'agissant des coquillages, ceux-ci sont soigneusement sélectionnés, toujours naturels mais renforcés de l'intérieur par un émail à froid à base de résine, leur conférant résistance et solidité.

natural shell jewellery

QUALITE ET RESPONSABILITE DES MATERIAUX

Les bijoux Shagreen & Tortoise sont fabriqués en vermeil : argent massif recouvert d'une couche d'or 18 karats (5 microns). La dorure est réalisée par un artisan-doreur de référence sur Paris et a une très bonne tenue dans le temps.

 

Les pierres fines sont soigneusement sélectionnées et serties par notre partenaire artisan-tailleur à Jaïpur.

Les coquillages et autres matériaux peuvent provenir du monde entier et sont tous issus de pêche ou élevage réglementées. La marque Shagreen & Tortoise ne travaille que des matériaux et espèces non protégés.